//
you're reading...
General

I’ll be back soon!

Hi All.

Sincere apologies for the hiatus. I’ve taken a longer than expected break from building my RV-7. As life tends to do, unexpected twists and turns have resulted in a fair layer of dust accumulating on my completed parts and crates.

But don’t worry! I’ll be getting back into building in a couple of months. We’ve almost finished building our new house which means I’ll be dusting off those crates and setting up my build in my brand new shed sooner than you can say “Honey, have you seen my pneumatic squeezer?”.

I’ve been pleasantly surprised that this site is still getting a bit of traffic. It’s great to see that there are still people deciding to have a go at building and that muggins here may be able to help with that in some small way.

I’m expecting to get everything set up and dusted off around mid-2015. My wing skins have been mildly damaged during transit to the new house so I’ll be starting with giving the wings a good once over to ensure the spars and ribs are OK.

Until then, take care!
Gav

About gstrack

Husband and father of 2. Control & Instrumentation Engineer. Flying nut. Gadget geek.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “I’ll be back soon!

  1. Hi Gav, I only just found your site and only just working through your project to date.

    Can I ask, did you order your kit directly from Vans and how did they deliver to AU and was the freight reasonable? I am considering starting an RV-7. I know of someone who has an unopened RV-7 sub- component kit in AU which might be a cost effective start, but the other sub-kits I’ll have to be shipped for the U.S.

    I shall keep reading your journey with great interest.

    regards, Tony

    Posted by Tony | June 11, 2015, 8:38 pm
    • Hi Tony,

      Thanks for checking out my website. I bought my kit directly from Vans and was able to shared freight costs to AU with someone else who was also importing a kit at the same time. I found the freight charges reasonable to the port of entry, however the local transport fees from the port to my resident were almost criminal. It was the same cost to import the kit from America, as it was to get it from Fremantle to Mandurah. Just plain robbery in my opinion. I was able to hire a local HIAB truck guy who charged by the hour and we went up and collected the kit ourselves for about 1/3 the cost of the courier company.

      The other thing to consider is that a kit already in country won’t have import taxes and duties you have to pay for.

      Happy building!
      Gav

      Posted by gstrack | January 9, 2016, 6:56 pm

Leave a comment